My Favorite Things: Holiday Edition

Being a Silicon Valley resident over the holidays is…different. But, in many ways- good different!  I’ve experienced so many different traditions, foods, and stories that have enriched my experience here.  I’ve also learned things like to avoid shopping big-box retailers from Black Friday to December 26.  As my mom might say, people get very “non 4-H friendly”!

I’d love to share some of my favorite things about this holiday season- it’s just the beginning of the most wonderful time of the year!

1. I have successfully made and loved Pumpkin Granola, a recipe found from SkinnyTaste.com.  It isn’t too sweet and it is very easy to make. Bonus! Your kitchen smells like a warm holiday gathering.

From SkinnyTaste.com

From SkinnyTaste.com

2. Caffè Misto at Starbucks with their Holiday Blend. Caffè Misto is literally translated into “coffee with milk”.  After reading a very interesting article about the pesticides, GMO’s, and insane amounts of high fructose corn syrup in Starbucks products, I found this drink to be a good compromise, as the main ingredients are simply milk and coffee.  Bring a peppermint stick with you and stir it into this drink for an extra treat!

3.  The Fossil Sydney Satchel. Need I say more?

Fossil Sydney Satchel $188

Fossil Sydney Satchel $188

4. Working retail, on my schedule. This holiday season, I have the privilege of being able to own my own business and helping others find very meaningful and unique jewelry for their family and friends.  My Bachelor’s degree is in Fashion Merchandising, and since I am not able to have a “day job” in this field, Rings and Redwoods Chloe and Isabel Boutique gives me the opportunity to have fun with style and merchandising- especially during the holidays. I feel so fortunate to have this opportunity!

More to come later…I’m sure I’ll brew up some other favorites before New Years Day!

Leave a Reply

