“The Right Attitude and One Arm Will Beat the Wrong Attitude and Two Arms Every Time.”


Said Pete Davis as he was climbing El Capitan in Yosemite, one of the most difficult ascents at a staggering 3,000 feet.  Pete is a part of The Gimp Monkeys, a climbing team made up of 3 men that are all missing a limb.  The Gimp Monkeys (YouTube video above) aren’t trying to raise money, awareness or even draw attention to the fact that they are all achieving a feat that many people with all of their limbs are not able to do. They just climb. Because it’s their passion. It’s what they are meant to do.

My favorite quote:

“I think that everyone has a disability of some sort. It’s mental, it’s physical, they have stuff going on. So, if something holds you back, that’s your disability but you’ve got to own it and say ‘okay, but I’m going to use it to move forward instead of backward and letting it hold me back.”

So, here’s where I talk about how this film I viewed at the Banff Film Festival really resonated with me.  Work has been tough lately, I’ve had a rough time staying positive, I work in sad-looking cubicle walls and now I’m really going to seek out what I’m really meant to do and just go for it. But, I stop my self and say, ‘tough shit’. Sad cubicle walls…..really?  Awww, I’ve had a tough time at work so I have a hard time staying positive…blah blah blah.  Whine, whine, whine.

These three people. Who have all lost a major limb. Their lives have been severely altered.  They decided that they were going to let the fact they were missing a LIMB was not going to hold them back from climbing (sleeping and eating) for 5 days to get to the top of a 3,000 foot mountain.

We all make choices. Everyday is a choice to either roll out of bed with positivity or negativity.  These three men decided on the former and look what they did.  Makes me think, what can you or I do?

2 Comments on ““The Right Attitude and One Arm Will Beat the Wrong Attitude and Two Arms Every Time.”

  1. Attended Banff Film Festival last night here in Michigan, Gimp Monkeys was one of the videos that affected me the most (for the reasons you mentioned). It’s so easy to make excuses for why one is unable to do something, much harder (and more rewarding) to push past adversity, large or small.

Leave a Reply

