3 Crazy Ideas I’ve Considered to get a Job

If you’ve been following the blog, you know my current position is “job seeker”. You may also know that for me, this translates into “stir-crazy young person turning into a crazy cat lady”. I need a job. Now. I’ve done some incredibly successful things and have all the right skills to achieve my goal of receiving an offer from the “big players” like Google or LinkedIn.  I’ve created a website, applied to job online, networked, had someone review my resume…. blah…blah.  Nothing.

Okay, pity party is over.  After every rejection e-mail that’s absent of a reason for not selecting me as a candidate I wonder, what is it going to take? Thankfully, I have Brice to run ideas by and have him say “No, Kelsey I don’t think that’s a great idea”. However, I think my followers will get a nice laugh from my out-of-the-box ideas that didn’t materialize. (Thankfully)

1. Posting my resume on a t-shirt. Then, I would wear this t-shirt to networking events, coffee shops, anywhere where recruiters might hang out.  I even considered putting my resume on my car as a magnet. However, this never materialized because of the hundreds of spam e-mails that would clog my inbox and the risk of a recruiter getting weirded out by reading a t-shirt.

2. Making a YouTube Video. No, no not a Rebecca Black-esque “Friday” music video of me trying to sing my resume in a parody video. That would end badly. I’m thinking more of the Matthew Epstein video I referenced in Dear Google, Please Hire Me.

Me? In a fake mustache drinking scotch? Probably not a good idea. 🙂

3. Spelling my resume in Christmas lights. This was inspired by a Georgia woman who did this in her backyard, but I just don’t see how this doesn’t turn into a Clark Griswold situation.

5 Comments on “3 Crazy Ideas I’ve Considered to get a Job

  1. Hi Kelsey, Believe it or not, your crazy ideas might not be so crazy. Some years ago, a job seeker in Denver walked up and down the main street in the downtown business district of Denver wearing a sandwich board that said he was looking for a job. He was featured on the evening news that day and I’m sure he got a job.

    Have you looked at any of the Guerilla Marketing books for Job Hunters? One of them in particular has some wacky ideas in it.

    Kind regards,

    Suzanne

    • Suzanne- Great ideas and thanks for the support! I will have to check out the Guerilla Marketing books for job hunters!

Leave a Reply

