Color Run SF 2012

This weekend, Brice and I ran The Color Run which is dubbed the “happiest 5K on the planet”.  It was a once in a lifetime experience to say the least.  We had to get up at 4:45am to get to Candlestick Park on time for the 8:00am race.  We arrived early to get our race numbers, t-shirt and headband which were white in preparation for all of the powder color.  You could feel the excitement as people arrived in groups or families- some were dressed in costumes.

When it was time to line up for the race it was an amazing sight- thousands of people in line to run  through stations of color powder thrown at them by volunteers.  Everyone was in a festive mood and danced to the music provided by the race team.  Here’s a YouTube video taken by a runner at our 8:00am race:

We then ran 5 kilometers through 5 stations of volunteers using empty ketchup bottles to squirt the colored powder straight at our faces and bodies.  It was exhilarating!  I would do it again in a heartbeat.  My goal was to jog the entire 5K and not walk at all- I hadn’t done a lot of training which made me nervous- but nevertheless I did it!  I was so proud of myself because I am not really a long distance runner.

This is a short post 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

